• Lockdown in Denmark Linked to Drop in New AF Diagnoses

    29 days ago - By Medscape

    The incidence of new-onset atrial fibrillation fell by nearly half during the first 3 weeks of Denmark's COVID-19 lockdown, new findings in the European Heart Journal show.
    Reuters Health Information
    Read more ...

     

  • ACE Inhibitors and ARBs Do Not Increase Risk of Severe/Lethal COVID-19

    29 days ago - By Medscape

    Angiotensin converting-enzyme inhibitors and angiotensin receptor blockers do not increase the risk of severe or lethal COVID-19, according to a meta-analysis.
    Reuters Health Information
    Read more ...

     

  • Prolonged Ketosis in Hyperglycemic Emergencies Seen With COVID-19

    29 days ago - By Medscape

    COVID-19 may lead to hyperglycemic emergencies and protracted ketonemia in patients with diabetes, according to a case series from the UK.
    Reuters Health Information
    Read more ...

     

  • We're Exhausted From Bearing The Burden Of Others' COVID-19 Irresponsibility

    We're Exhausted From Bearing The Burden Of Others' COVID-19 Irresponsibility

    29 days ago - By Scary Mommy

    As the COVID-19 pandemic rages on , I'm finding myself more and more exhausted. In the beginning, it was the fear and boredom that were hardest for me. Then, I moved into a period of time where the social isolation felt like a physical weight on my chest. My fear has subsided, replaced by a healthy respect for this virus. Boredom and isolation are still taking their toll, but my newest overwhelming emotion is just sheer exhaustion.
    I continue to follow all the strictest guidelines because I am committed to giving society our best shot at getting this beast under control.
    My family is...
    Read more ...

     

  • US sets one-day record with more than 60,500 COVID-19 cases

    29 days ago - By Sydney Morning Herald

    The tally represents the largest one-day increase by any country since the pandemic emerged in China last year.
    Read more ...

     

  • Veteran Female Leaders to Head WHO COVID-19 Review Amid Antiglobalism Barbs

    29 days ago - By Medscape

    Avowed multilateralists Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and Helen Clark will lead a World Health Organization panel scrutinizing the global response to the COVID-19 pandemic just as international institutions are under fire.
    Reuters Health Information
    Read more ...

     

  • Legislative efforts aim to address privacy concerns amid COVID-19

    29 days ago - By Healio

    Since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic, privacy laws and regulations have been loosened to accommodate increased telehealth services and avoid in-office visits.
    For instance, CMS announced that smartphone apps and platforms that would not typically be permitted under HIPAA regulations would be allowed for use during telehealth visits, and that telehealth visits would be reimbursed at the same rate as in-office visits for many services.
    These and other efforts have led to a rapid increase in telehealth utilization among primary care physicians. In a recent survey conducted by the Primary Care
    Read more ...

     

  • Speaking of Pandemics: The Art and Science of Risk Communication

    29 days ago - By Medscape

    Public health messages should be loud and clear so that everyone listens and stays safe. But that's easier said than done - especially with a case as complex as COVID-19.
    Knowable Magazine
    Read more ...

     

  • WHO Sets Up Panel to Review Handling of COVID-19 Pandemic

    29 days ago - By Medscape

    WHO said on Thursday it was setting up an independent panel to review its handling of the COVID-19 pandemic and the response by governments.
    Reuters Health Information
    Read more ...